Rediscovering Brussels

In the last two years, I hardly ever missed having a bike. Two months ago though, the feeling of lacking something got stronger and stronger so that I finally got a second hand bicycle on my preferred flea market.

I only went on a few rides but can already say that it was worth every single cent. The distances you can cover, the possibility to easily get out of the city and to discover new areas and places – all this is absolutely delightful.

One of the best things I discovered is La promenade verte; a green ring around Brussels of a total length of over 60 kilometers leading through gardens, parks and forests. B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L!

Brussels being Brussels the map for the trip is out of stock all over town but the online documentation is pretty good. For now, I’m busy doing the 7 étapes one by one but one of my plans for this year is to do the whole tour in a day.

Participants bienvenus!

2 responses to “Rediscovering Brussels

  1. Not that I don’t like your pics of the flea market, but I had hoped the link would lead me to a pic of your bike…

    On second thoughts, you would probably have highlighted the work “bicycle” had you wanted to do that.

    • 🙂 I’ll send you a picture of my bike; no problem. It’s a good one, with 18 gears. One of the first things I did was to make it less pretty. The uglier the bike, the better the protection against a sudden ‘lost’.

Leave a Reply

