Multi-culturalism*

I love working in a multi-cultural environment, I really do. But every time someone sees me putting salt on the butter on top of the bread, I feel a bit lonely. Apparently, putting salt on buttered bread is totally unknown in the English speaking part of the world and everywhere south of Wiesbaden.

However, today, I learned that the Irish wave at one (1) magpie* as it is considered bringing bad luck. And, they have poems… about Magpies:

One for sorrow, two for mirth,
Three for a wedding, four for a birth,
Five for silver, six for gold,
Seven for a secret not to be told.
Eight for heaven, nine for hell,
And ten for the devil’s own sel’.

I also learned today, that in Spain you wear new red underwear on New Year’s eve because it brings good luck in love in the new year.

Sometimes, I wonder…

* les pies, Elstern

Leave a Reply

