Toledo

Toledo’s map comes as close to a labyrinth as possible without deliberate planning. Well, maybe it was deliberate planning, I don’t know. I usually considering myself being good in orienting myself but after failing twice in finding what I was looking for by walking simply in the right direction, I decided to strictly follow the map. The challenge is that you have to blindly trust the map. If you say first left and then second right, take the second right even if it’s just 60 cm wide and rather looks like a cul-de-sac.

A part from this, it’s of some advantage if you don’t mind stairs and a lot of walking up, down, down, up, etc. It’s a rather sportive challenge visiting Toledo throughout in a day. But it’s beautiful. The best part is actually just walking through the city and see all these nice little, twisted streets and amazing buildings which very often look like Art Nouveau though I’m not sure if this is not the Muslim influence.

Not that there is much of Muslim culture left. Actually, Toledo has the highest percentage of churches, convents or other religious buildings per square-meter, I’ve ever seen in life. In almost every corner of the street you run into a church. But from one of the churches (I just can’t remember which one) you have undeniably a great view over the city.

In one word: fantástico!

7 responses to “Toledo

  1. The church with the view is the Iglesia de los Jesuitas, and the bridge is actually the Puente de Alcántara. Do I see right that they restore the Alcazar? I’ve the same picture from the church tower without scaffolding on the Alcazar. I agree on the tiny streets and orientation problems, by the way! Uli

  2. Uh just clicked on the link to the map. I don’t want a map of Toledo, Ohio, USA! 🙂

  3. Oups, I’ll fix that, don’t worry

  4. Fixed. And you are right: It was the Iglesia de los Jesuitas. It was you who told me to go to Toledo, right?

    And right a second time: They are restoring the Alcazar. Actually, the Alcazar, the museum El Greco and the third most important tourist attraction (forgot which one, wasn’t interested in visiting it anyway) there all were closed for works. If this is not Spanish efficiency 😛

  5. Could be that I told you! But then I am telling anyone to see so many things… If the Alcazar, El Greco museum are numbers one and two, makes that the cathedral no. 3? I suppose you saw that fantastic church… Leaves the Hospital with many El Grecos (one of my three favourite painters) or one of the synagogues? Uli

  6. In fact if you don’t like getting lost in a city you might prefer Toledo, Ohio, home of the Toledo Mud Hens and cause for a war that resulted in the loss of two horses, two pigs and a few chickens.

    The building you don’t remember is the Convento de San Gil, built in the 17th century as seminary for missionaries and, after being used as prison, barracks of the Guardia Civil and fire house, it is seat of the Cortes de Castilla-La Mancha (yes, that one I had to look up, but umwalker beat me to it with the easier ones; without further help I can only tell you that it is “Puerta del Sol” and “Alcázar”).

  7. @ Umwalker: I think it was you. You always give good advice when it comes to visiting cities, churches, etc. The building which was closed was the Mezquita del Cristo de la Luz. The hospital you mean was open but I’m not a big fan of El Greco to be honest.

    @ Heinz: Your knowledge is outstanding. Especially the unnecessary one – I love it. Puerta del Sol and Alcazar were the ones I actually remembered. The great thing about this blog is that I could look all this up myself but it is much more fun to ask. Thanks for the enlightening answers!

Leave a Reply

