Homage to the critics

One of the things I enjoy in life is to know what is going on in the city I live in. I like reading about all the different performances, festivals, flea markets, concerts etc. going on, knowing that I could attend all of them even if I finally finish hanging out with friends having a beer. A part from the agenda, I enjoy to read about movies coming out and knowing if they are worth watching or not.

Grenoble was the first city where I discovered a very nice little journal offering a combination of weekly information about events and good cinema critics. Though I must admit that I struggled even after three years to understand all articles of Le petit bulletin immediately, it was certainly a good source for my vocabulary. In Berlin, there are several journals and I finished buying “Zitty” every other week though I don’t remember the cinema critics as particularly well written.

Brussels now, has a weekly journal, I can recommend to anyone: Agenda/Cinema. Written in English, French and Dutch it is distributed for free in hundreds places throughout the city. A part from the agenda section which gives a good overview on paid and free vents, it’s the cinema review I love. Movies are rated from 0 to 4 stars. From two onwards the film is likely to be a good choice and the time and money spent in cinema a worthwhile investment. Three stars is a really good movie and four is outstanding, an absolutely “Have to see” as were WALL-E and The dark knight in recent weeks.

What I really like about their critics is that they are not afraid of saying that a movie is crap because I think that it is only through fair, sometimes hard critics that you can trust the recommendations. A part from this, it’s fun reading a scathing review like about Babylon A.D.: “While science fiction may be meat-and-drink for Americans, the French haven’t the first idea about how to do it. “This fact is demonstrated yet again by Babylon A.D. by French director Matheiu Kassovitz….”

3 responses to “Homage to the critics

  1. the previews for Babylon AD made me expect something a lot more original… it totally felt like a cross between Minority Report and the Fifth Element

  2. My source is normally IMDB (5.5 for Babylon BTW), though I recognise Agenda’s comments are pretty sharp.

  3. IMDB is a good source as well and a movie which is rated 7.5 and above is probably a pretty good one. But one of the things I suspect is that some, rather for a specific audience, movies (horror or so) are only rated by the people who going to watch this kind of stuff. It’s not really an objective feedback. But then again, what’s objective in life?

Leave a Reply

