Well said

American football is like Rugby played by cowards and cheaters.

Anonymous

12 responses to “Well said

  1. I guess that’s the reason why
    – you can see injuries like this one
    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9SoDPFhT-u8),
    – an average NFL career lasts 4 years,
    – you get 1,320,000 hits when you google “football injury report”.
    I think when just look at all the pads and helmets you miss the fact that the improved security can be offset by more reckless behaviour (e.g. for obvious reasons a rugby player will be less likely to make a tackle head first).
    With due respect, I dissent.

  2. On second thought, just leave out American.

  3. I’m with you, la puce, I’m with you.

  4. Ah guys, you are great!
    @ Heinz: No, I will not leave out American, good try though but no. But very interesting statistics. I must admit that my knowledge about American football is very limited. Do you have similar stats about Rugby by any chance?

    @ Maik: Merci! 🙂

  5. I’ve made my comments off the top of my head and my knowledge of rugby is only rudimentary. After all, we have no rugby tradition here. From what I can tell after a quick search we are not the only ones who argue about the relative merits of both sports (well, you could quibble that getting seriously hurt is not really a merit). So I can only further muddy the waters by suggesting that perhaps our national pastime is the most dangerous sport…

  6. Dear Heinz,

    I guess that my attitude towards American football corresponds to the American attitude towards European football: slight despise without knowing any relevant facts. Furthermore, I would say that this exchange of facts and stereotypes is an excellent way to open the horizon and see a few new elements there.

    Hey, who knows? Perhaps we find eachother together one day in a stadium watching American football and not the European one…

    Everything is possible. Well, almost.

  7. Dear lapuce,

    I hold this truth to be self-evident that everyone has an unalienable right to make comments on issues he is blissfully ignorant of. Otherwise I should just punt instead of getting involved in an argument about rugby.

    While I don’t know anything about the other spectators I might find at Wembley Stadium, it is definitely possible I’ll be there when the Chargers play the Saints.

  8. @ Heinz: I really like your English. It’s so elaborated. “…that everyone has an unalienable right to make comments on issues he is blissfully ignorant of.” – That is very beaufully said!

  9. A decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires me to confess that it is but a quote (more or less, somehow they forgot about this specific right although it is of utmost importance. Imagine everyone being confined to comment only on things he knows about).

  10. Ah, you are great! And absolutely right. In order to keep the learning aspect of this blog, would you mind letting me know who you are quoting?

  11. We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.

    If you can’t guess which document I am quoting I’ll tell you on July 4.

  12. OK, you are right. I should have got it from the word “unalienable”. Still, thanks for giving me the reference.
    Bedankt!

Leave a Reply

