Méchant

Very nice and a tiny bit mean article about English as increasingly important EU language in the European Voice which is not available online, unfortunately. The article comments ironically on the fact that the recently introduced Irish language is hardly ever used at the European Parliament, not even by the Irish. The point is that some of the MEP do not speak Gaeilge very well or that they can “get across the most persuasive points” better in English; followed by the sentence: Tell that to the French.

Vu leur accent, je suis pas sûre que ça soit une bonne idée…

9 responses to “Méchant

  1. Perhaps they should stick to issues where they have the best expertise. Sé leigheas na póite ól arís!

  2. Is this Irish, the last sentence? If yes, what online translator are you using? If you are not using one because you just speak it fluently – my sincer apologies…

    Je suis impressionée!

  3. It is Irish…the fada gives it away. I even found a decent online translation and was able to get to the origin of the concept. But I still don’t get it.

  4. Well, that’s maybe one of these languages where you just can stand awe struck and give up the thought about learning it.
    However, what Heinz wrote is the transcription of Irish in the Latin alphabet, or?
    Because the only time I saw Gaeilge written in the original way, it looked very much to me like what Tolkien’s elves wrote until I realised that it was Irish…

  5. No, Irish is written exactly that way. It uses the Latin alphabet. If what you have seen looked Tolkienesque, it was either because it was very old (such as “Fraktur” in German) or because someone liked the ornamental value of it.

  6. μη κρινετε κατ οψιν αλλα την δικαιαν κρισιν κρινετε
    I know absolutely no Irish. In fact, it took me three days to figure out how to pronounce the name of my Irish colleague at DG MARKT (and his name was only four letters long).
    I only wanted to suggest that Irish MEP should find it easier to make persuasive points in their “native tongue” if they stick to an issue where the Irish have a lot of expertise (from what I can remember of a very long afternoon in the council they also have a lot to say about herring, but it was easier to come up with something related to drinking).

  7. @ Heinz: THAT: μη κρινετε κατ οψιν αλλα την δικαιαν κρισιν κρινετε is exactly what I mean. Thank you!!

    @ Maik: Do you know hand-written Sütterlin? I think that looks a weird to other nations as what Heinz published looks to me.

    I love languages…

  8. I think you were refering to the Irish uncial alphabet. I should stick to English in my comments.

  9. Aber nicht doch!! I learn so many things here thanks to you, others and the creative use of language. Keep on going, bitte!

Leave a Reply

