Lost soul

So yes, I left Germany; again. This time, my new official resident country is Belgium, last time it was France. Some people ask me why I’m doing so. Well, why not living officially in the country where you have your work, your flat and a good deal of your social life going on? For me, it just makes sense. Though, as discussed a while ago, I’m part of the group of young, well educated East German women who leave nothing but social problems and a declining economy behind. So what?

In the history of mankind, periods of settlement and migration alternated. Whenever  economic or other conditions turned out to be too bad to make a decent living, those who could left.

Though it is true that I would have problems finding a (good and interesting) job in the region I come from, to me not only the economic situation matters. It is more the wish to go beyond borders, personal ones and geographical ones. Grenoble was a first real bit in this matter, South Africa an appetizer encouraging the desire for more. Now, as you may say, Belgium is rather unimpressive when it comes to migration, it’s not Australia, New Zealand, or another fashionable country where people turn green when you tell them about it. Right, but, Brussels is with it’s unique mix of people the most international city I know.

Very probable, it is not the last city/country I gonna live in either. However, I enjoy living abroad. I enjoy learning new things. I enjoy the experiences seeming much richer to me than what I could get in Germany. It is fascination for the unknown. And no, indeed, I do not see any obvious reason why I should go back to Germany. At least not now. Maybe later…

Leave a Reply

