Talking football

The International Herald Tribune had a very nice article today about football in Germany. And it doesn’t matter how they call it, it is football and nothing else. In the printed edition, the article had a different title: “Money can’t buy happiness in Germany”, which I found a bit strange since money can never buy happiness. At its best, it can help to achieve a certain peace of mind where money is not to a constant issue. Personally I believe that this occurs not very often. If there is not enough money than it is a worry, if there is quite enough, it has to be spend, invested and so on. Especially people with too much money seem to have very particular problems trying to find the most purposeful or some times purposeless way to do something with it.

Anyway, the article about the Bundesliga is great. I liked especially the beginning: “Less then 18 months after Germany was host to the biggest party on Earth, the World Cup of 2006…” and the comparison of Bayern Munich with “a worn-out Trabant rather than a smooth Mercedes”.

Voilà.

6 responses to “Talking football

  1. As someone who supports St. Pauli and whoever is playing Bayern Munich, I just love that Trabant quote.

    However, I am genuinely concerned about German football. Watching the English Premier League, you notice that players here tend to run a lot more, a lot faster and have superior technical skills (few of them are Enlgish, it has to be said). However, if it is not down to the money they can spend on players, analysis becomes a lot more difficult.

  2. Hey Maik,

    Glad that you liked the Trabant quote. After the 50th birthday of it, it seems to appear in newspapers and blogs more often than before.

    You’re right about the German football – it is to be worried about. I mean, even the “great” Bayern Munich doesn’t not excel in the Champions League; they even have problems in the Uefa Cup. It is not even worth speaking about the other clubs.

    Actually, I do not think that this is a money but a structural problem. The Bundesliga is years behind other European Clubs in it’s approach of professionalising. Though, the question is if we want it. Is it better to have a nice, small league enjoyed by its home public or do we want these economical efficient stoke exchange rated mega clubs? I’m not quite sure if this is really what football should go for.

  3. I hope you don’t mind if I correct your English but clubs listed on a stock exchange are economically efficient (although there were cases where this was definitely not true). I usually don’t interfere with your efforts to master the language of the bard but I have to draw a line when it comes to company law!
    Answering your substantive question is equally simple: I want to see the best football, therefore I want to see the best talent money can buy. If I want to “enjoy” a nice, small league I’m sure I can always find that at home (what a depressing idea).

    Het beste!

  4. @ Heinz: I’m sorry for the mistake though you may have a look in the “about”, especially the part where I’m giving details on HOW to correct me if I make mistakes which is not the case very often anyway 🙂

    Regarding the substantive question: I have a strong doubt that money can buy good football and I actually believe that the Bundesliga is a good example for this. Bayern is the richest club since years – the best football has been played in Bremen and Stuttgart for a while.

    My point is that it needs more than just money – it needs structure, system, a decent team management and, idealistic as I am, a strong team spirit including the fans. Personally, I don’t like the idea of a football where money is all what matters. And, btw, nice and small referred to the Bundesliga in comparison to the English or Spanish.

  5. I am with you on team spirit and fans. No one who is half-sane will ever claim St. Pauli plays good football. But team spirit and fans – that is what made them Weltpokalsiegerbesieger. And made them beat Werder Bremen in the 2006 quarter finals. And saved them from extinction. If I was given the choice between Chelsea FC and St. Pauli – I’d take St. Pauli any day.

  6. Merci. It’s great to see that someone understands & supports my point of view!!

Leave a Reply

