Dispensable

I have an excellent memory for things I never wanted to know.

9 responses to “Dispensable

  1. Such as…?

  2. Did you know that plants can get sunburn? No, never wanted to know? Me neither 🙂
    Ok, I have to admit that I like unnecessary knowledge but the problem is rather the other way round. Sometimes, I would like to remember things I learned and which could prove useful from time to time. I learned so many things for exams and so on but when asked about it weeks or years later – only some vague memory is left. Quite frustrating sometimes and I am too young to have a good excuse.

  3. Ah well, random knowledge might alway come in handy should you end up on Jauch’s chair on day 🙂

    About learning for exams – same here. I was always quite good at remembering large amounts of material in great detail for a short period of time. Which meant that I started learning for exams about 48 hours before I had to sit them. 48 hours after I had sat them (usually quite successfully), all memory of what I had learnt was gone.

    I stayed out of the debate you had with Cinnamon about the “Latinum”, because I felt too embarrassed to admit that, although it says on my Abiturzeugnis that I have the “GroĂźes Latinum”, I couldn’t even remember what exactly an “ablativus absolutus” was…still can’t *schäm*

  4. *one day*…I still remember how to spell…

  5. Don’t schäm! I mean, I remember that there was such a thing like an Ablativus absolutus but what it really was about: ähm…?
    What is annoying me is that kind of “Halbwissen” I have. I know a lot of things a bit but very few indepth. Even things I studies for years and more than one exam, I hardly remember like facts about the EU. On the other hand, I would say that most of the time it is more important to know where you can find facts than to know the facts themselves. Who knows everything??? So don’t worry and forget Latin!
    Btw: Did you ever ever need it again after the “Abitur”? Would like to know: la puce

  6. No, never. However, that goes for many things I learnt at school. The trouble is, you never know in advance what you will need one day. I did “Gemeinschaftskunde” and English as “Leistungskurse”. I was sure I would need Gemeinschaftskunde, but would not need English other than watching Daria on MTV. Turned out I never made much use of what I learnt in Gemeinschaftskunde, but I happened to write my PhD dissertation in English. (Incidentally, I still find the stuff we did in Gemeinschaftskunde more interesting.) Never needed Kurvendiskussion again, but Stochastik came in very handy when I had to do inferential statistics. Could I have predicted that? I don’t think so. I don’t mind Halbwissen. If I had a choice between knowing one topic in depth or many superficially, I would probably go for the many, i.e. for Halbwissen. I think it makes you a more rounded and interesting person. Obviously, it is even better to know a few things in depth AND have a half-decent Halbwissen…

    Maik

    PS: I agree. Thinking is far more important than knowing. If you don’t know – you can always look it up. If you can’t think …

  7. “Gemeinschaftskunde”, sounds exciting. A bit like “Ethik”. What was it about?

    On all the rest, I totaly agree with you, especially of having a good knowledge of at least a few things and a broad general education. This would be great. I have the broad general education. Actually, one friend is always teasing me that you can give me any arbitrary topic and I gonna make a “Stehgreifvortrag”. This is not true, well, perhaps a bit. So probably I should no start working on the indepth knowledge.

    We’ll see. But great comment, great PS. Thanks!

  8. “Gemeinschaftskunde” is a mixture of politics, sociology and economics, but mainly politics. Ethik, btw, was my “viertes PrĂĽfungsfach”.

    The “Stehgreifvortrag”-capability is an important resource! One of my professors once sent me to a consulting job with the management of an art museum. Not because I knew my stuff, but because I was good at “Kompetenzsimulation” (his words, not mine). Which goes to show that the competency to fake competency is a competency in its own right 🙂

  9. “Kompetenzsimulation” – that is something I definitly gonna try more often now. And make a competency out of it. Sounds like a lot of fun – for me.

    Meine Prüfungsfächer waren: Mathe (LK), Französisch (LK), Deutsch und Geschichte. Just in case you wanted to know.

Leave a Reply

