Body clock

Whenever I can work the way I like, my performance is much better than usual. Normal working days and hours are a bit frustrating for me because I am not really efficient the four/five hours after getting up. Not to speak about the first hour after getting out of bed when I am hardly able to answer the easiest questions. A hm (= yes) or a hmhm (= non) is the maximum.

Anyway, as I always noticed, my performance is better when I can work when I want. My master’s thesis, I did it entirely between 4pm and midnight. I usually got up around 11 am, went to university to check my emails (no Internet at home at the time), came back home, ate and started working at 4 or 6 pm. Then I worked quite frequently until midnight or even 2 am before going to bed – I got a good mark at the end.

So whenever I can work as I want it, mostly on weekends, I do it exactly that way. The story about body clocks and what a friend told me that human beings should get out of bed with the sunrise is not written for me. My body clock clearly tells me that the later I work, the better I do. If only general working hours could be adapted to this, would be great. Thank you for your understanding,

la puce

4 responses to “Body clock

  1. Willkommen im Club!
    Dem delta-t-Club.
    Delta-t – dem Verein für Zweitnormalität.

    Mir scheint, daß da nicht nur ich reingehöre 😉

  2. What is Delta-t? Ok, I admit, I am too lazy/busy to google it.

    Zweitnormalität – nice word.

  3. Wie schön! Lange Zeit dachte ich ja, ich sei der einzige, der “out-of-synch” mit dem Rest der Welt ist. Dann las ich in Cinnamons Kuriositätenstöckchen von ihrer Zweitnormalität und Delta t und fühlte mich schon nicht mehr ganz so allein. Als nächstes strumpelte ich dann auf Nessys “Draußen nur Kännchen” Blog über folgendes Selbstportrait: “Spricht vor elf Uhr morgens selten ganze Sätze, hält stattdessen Antworttäfelchen mit den Texten “Ja”, “Nein” und “Frage umformulieren” hoch.” Und meine Isolation schmolz weiter dahin…(wo bekommt man nur diese Täfelchen?). Um gegen 6.15 Uhr überhaupt irgendeine Kommunikation zu ermöglichen, mußten meine Eltern schon zu frühesten Schulzeiten lernen, den feinen Unterschied zwischen “hm” und “hmhm” herauszuhören, wenn ich als hirnloser Zellhaufen am Frühstückstisch saß. Und nun Du. Wir sind viele 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. I googled it – looks nice, bit weird but nice. But I always knew that I am not alone, neither the worst case. I have friends who are just not available before 11 on working days and during the weekend, it is better for the friendship if I let them call me.

    Ok, I have to work now and to be efficient… J’en ai pas envie. La puce

Leave a Reply

