Belgium

The 21st of July is the Belgium national day celebrated with a military parade* and firework. With two of my flatmates I went to see both of them and it made me aware how few I know about the country I am living in since 5 months now. During the firework, I realised that I would not even recognise the national anthem… Pretty poor performance.

Anyway, here are some impressions from the military parade and the visit from the Parliament – open door day:

Parade

Parade2

Inside the parliament

First Belgium king

*First thought: Why does a country like Belgium need all this tanks, troupes, planes and so on?

* Second thought: If ever Germany wants to invade its smaller neighbour again, it should do so on the national day. All troupes are on detachment to Brussels. They should have no problems reaching the Northern sea within two or three hours…

2 responses to “Belgium

  1. OH MY GOD,,,,,HOW GERMAN ARE U, IF WE EVER WONTED TO TAKE OVER BRUSSELS, FIRST OF ALL, ZIE “GERMANS” failed 2 times, not once but 2 times, BUT the northern sea comment was i feel by far the best, EVERY GERMAN has a old german SCREEMING TO COME OUT. HAHAHAHAH U GERMANS, IF IT WAS NOT FOR GB AND THE QUEEN WHO ELSE WOULD KEEP U IN LINE

  2. I knew that you would very much appreciate the joke! Already when I thought about it aloud, our dear flatmates where laughing and I knew what you would say….

    Good one!

Leave a Reply

