Reading books is for me

  • a way to relax
  • an opportunity to think about my life
  • a way to travel to foreign countries
  • a way to experience history
  • a way to discover new dimensions, universes, and worlds
  • a good discussion topic
  • a way to meet new (though imaginary) friends
  • a way to let my imagination run free
  • a way to escape from the world for a while
  • a way to live great adventures
  • good entertainment
  • a tool to learn something new
  • a good way to spend time
  • a treasure
4 responses to “Reading books is for me

  1. This self-testing business can get a bit inflationary, but there is one other test that you might be interested in. It’s the “what book are you” quiz (http://bluepyramid.org/ia/bquiz.htm). I did it some time ago as did a friend of mine. Interestingly, the quiz identified both of us as books that were of immense importance to us in our teenage years. So maybe there is something more behind this test than behind the “political persuasion” one. Or maybe not, who can tell?

  2. I tried the test and I am Mrs. Dalloway (Virgina Woolf). Unfortunately, I do not know the book…

    What I find problematic about these tests, even if I love to do them, is that often the answers are to restricted. Already the first question in the test “are you rather concise or do you to on and on and on” is difficult to answer. For a book, I do not mind, if it takes some time to come to the essentials, for myself, I prefer concise style. And of course, it depends also on the style. For instance, Lord of the Rings has a long beginning until you get finally in the story but I love it, especially in the English original.

    Anyway, I will have a look for the Virgina Woolf book if I can’t find in a second hand bookshop or something like this because I like the description it gives: “Your life seems utterly bland and normal to the casual observer, but inside you are churning with a million tensions and worries. The company you surround yourself with may be shallow, but their effects upon your reality are tremendously deep. To stay above water, you must try to act like nothing’s wrong, but you know that the truth is catching up with you. You’re not crazy, you’re just a little unwell. But no doctor can help you now.” (After all, that one is rather good, at least, I like it)

  3. The description certainly makes for a very interesting person. I have not read the book, either. But I remember that it was made into a film with Vanessa Redgrave as Mrs. Dalloway. I wanted to see it at the time, but for one reason or another didn’t manage to.

    The good think about this test is that it is less static than many others. You are always asked six questions. However, any subsequent question depends on your answer to the previous one. So you end up with 64 possible results, which I bet is an awful lot more than with that “political persuasion” thing.

    If you manage to get hold of it, I would be very interested if you could relate to it, if you felt it had something to do with you. As I say, I know of at least two cases where that was the case.

  4. I will look out for it. Would be my first Virgina Woolf… I will let you know!

    La puce

Leave a Reply

